AGNPH Forums

Increasing Visibility?

•  
    Hah. Gaaay.
    BRN Six
    Date:Jul 8, 2013 8:37 AM Title:Increasing Visibility?
    Hi folks;

I'm rather new to the AGN.PH community. I'm wondering what you guys think are useful tips to helping more people find your stories?

Is there some way to use the Descriptions and Summary boxes I'm missing out on? What sort of viewer numbers should someone expect on a story here; what sort of story length do people seem to like?

Cheers.

~BRNx

•  
    Retroactively Continuitous
    cge0361
    Date:Jul 8, 2013 10:34 AM Title:Re: Increasing Visibility?
    The most effective way to get a new reader is for an old reader to recommend your work.  Obviously the only way to effect this is to write quite well, since you need to impress the first strongly before that reader will tell trusting acquaintances how they shoud spend their free time.

If you are looking to (ab)use descriptions and summaries to draw any attention you can gather, start applying huge fonts and color codes and gifs like The Human Species author has.  If you mean how to write a good blurb in general; I'm sure from my stats that I do not write an attractive blurb so I'll just say that what will drive me away from a story is a blurb that spoils the ending, self-deprecates, or sounds like just another lemon.

Length is tricky.  The correct length is whatever number of words best expresses the content of your story.  My personal guideline is to estimate 4k to 12k words for a chapter depending on complexity of the plot, and three to five chapters for each arc in a story.

•  
    Hawkeem
    Date:Jul 8, 2013 7:53 PM Title:Re: Increasing Visibility?
    Or you can do what some have in the past and spam the everloving piss out of your work. It may annoy a lot of people, but you'll get attention for better or worse.